cipality directly or through a board or utility. They are, in effect, co-operative efforts or a modified form of metropolitan government. Metropolitan government is a live issue in many larger centres but so far has been established only in the Toronto area.

The following paragraphs describe municipal organization in each province as at Jan. 1, 1958. In Table 24, which gives the number of each type of municipality in each province, all fully incorporated cities, towns and villages are regarded as urban municipalities. It is difficult to apply arbitrary definitions, such as that which classifies as urban centres all places having a population of 1,000 or more persons.

Newfoundland.—The Province of Newfoundland has two cities—St. John's and Corner Brook. A number of the province's many settlements have been organized into 31 towns, four rural districts, three local improvement districts and 27 local government communities. The towns, rural districts and local improvement districts operate under the Local Government Act; towns and rural districts have elected councils and local improvement districts have appointed trustees. Local government communities established under the Community Councils Act in the smaller settlements have limited powers and functions. There are no rural municipalities in the usual sense. Thus, between 40 p.c. and 50 p.c. of the population of the province is now organized in some form of local authority but only about one-fifth of 1 p.c. of the total area is so governed. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and Supply.

Prince Edward Island.—In this island province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 16 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province though it is divided into school sections.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the province. The two cities, Halifax and Sydney, operate under special charters and special legislation. Forty towns operate under the Town Incorporation Act but there are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality and the other six each comprise two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick.—This province is divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government as rural municipalities, though certain of their powers often apply in both rural and urban municipalities. The six cities have special charters, and the 20 towns operate under the Towns Incorporation Act. There is one village and 56 local improvement district areas within the counties but outside the cities, towns and villages; these have been incorporated for the provision of limited municipal services. The Department of Municipal Affairs exercises supervision.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one-third of the province, the remainder being governed by the province as "territories". The organized area is divided into 75 county municipalities, which are divided again into local municipalities and designated as village, township or parish municipalities or simply as municipalities. The counties as such have no direct powers of taxation. Funds to finance the services falling within their jurisdiction are provided by the municipalities forming part thereof. Parts of some counties are not yet organized into incorporated units of local government, being in outlying areas with little or no